News Flash

City of Battle Ground News

Posted on: January 3, 2024

City Council Welcomes New Members; Selects Mayor and Deputy Mayor

City Council Swearing In - January 2024

New and returning members who took their ceremonial oaths of office at the January 2 meeting were:

Eric Overholser, elected to position No. 7, is serving his first term in office.

Victoria Ferrer, elected to position No. 3, is serving her first term in office.  

Shane Bowman was re-elected to position No. 2 and is serving his 4th consecutive term in office.  

The three join sitting councilmembers Troy McCoy (Position No. 1), Adrian Cortes (Position No. 4), Tricia Davis (Position No. 5), and Cherish DesRochers (Position No. 6).

During the meeting the council also selected Troy McCoy to serve a two-year term as Mayor and Shane Bowman to serve as Deputy Mayor.  The Mayor's duties, in addition to having the same authority and responsibilities as all councilmembers, are to preside over council meetings and to serve as the ceremonial representative of the council.  The Deputy Mayor serves in that role should the Mayor be absent.

City councilmembers are elected at-large by voters to serve a four-year term.  The council is responsible for the legislative function of the city, such as establishing policy, passing local ordinances, approving budget appropriations, and developing an overall vision for the city.  Under the city's adopted Council-Manager form of government, the city council appoints a city manager to implement its policies, serve as advisor, and oversee administrative operations of the city.

To learn more about the Battle Ground City Council, visit