News Flash Home
The original item was published from 1/5/2016 11:24:31 AM to 3/14/2016 4:35:49 PM.

News Flash

City of Battle Ground News

Posted on: January 5, 2016

[ARCHIVED] Meet Your City Council


Battle Ground councilmembers Philip Johnson, Shane Bowman and Steven Phelps, elected to office by voters in November, took their oaths of office and their seats at the dais at last night’s council meeting. They join continuing members Mike Dalesandro, Bill Ganley, Lyle Lamb, and Chris Regan.

This is the second 4-year term in office for Mr. Johnson and Mr. Bowman; they were first elected to City Council in 2011. Mr. Phelps is new to the council, elected by voters last November; he previously served as member of the city’s Planning Commission.

Also at last night’s meeting Philip Johnson began his 2-year term as Mayor and the City Council selected Steven Phelps to serve as Deputy Mayor. Each biennium, the councilmember who had been serving as Deputy Mayor is designated as Mayor and the City Council selects a new Deputy Mayor. The Mayor’s duties, in addition to having the same authority and responsibilities of all Councilmembers, are to serve as presiding officer at meetings and as the ceremonial representative of Council.

Battle Ground Councilmembers are elected at-large by voters for a term of 4 years. The City Council is responsible for the legislative function of the city such as establishing policy, passing local ordinances, approving budget appropriations, and developing an overall vision. Under the city's adopted Council-Manager form of government, City Council appoints a City Manager to implement its policies, serve as advisor, and oversee administrative operations of the city.
More information about the Battle Ground City Council, including contact information, meeting agendas, and a calendar of meetings is available be selecting the City Council link below.

City Council

Other News in City of Battle Ground News